I’m not there yet, but I will!

Waktu gue dapet kabar kalo gue keterima kerja di media ini as a travel reporter, I was extremely excited.

Gimana enggak? gue suka banget jalan-jalan, tapi ya namanya jalan-jalan kan butuh uang. with this job, i get paid for doing what I love! this is so cool! gue ngebayangin setiap hari gue bakal jalan-jalan ke tempat-tempat baru, to the place I’ve never been. Gue ngebayangin keliling Indonesia, sendirian. And then write about what I do while traveling.

Well it turns out not exactly as it looks. Tugas gue ya, memang ngeliput hal-hal yang berbau pariwisata. Sesekali dapet undangan liputan keluar, kaya misalnya waktu itu ke Bandung dan beberapa waktu lalu ke Jambi. but the rest of my work days, dihabisin di kantor. writing on articles. kebanyakan menyadur artikel-artikel asing, and you know, stuffs like that.

Kadang-kadang bosen juga ya, di kantor terus, depan komputer all day. But I realized, it’s a process. come on, gue baru kerja sebulan, masa gue udah ngarep bakal jalan-jalan tiap hari? Turns out gue tau yang bakal banyak liputan ke luar kota ya reporter yang lebih senior. Ok, I could get along with that. I just have to be more patient.

I idolize many people who actually work as a traveler. Siapa yang nggak tau Trinity from the Naked Traveler? yang bukunya jadi best seller? Dan hari ini, pas gue lagi nyari-nyari ide buat nulis, I bump into this amazing blog: The Travel Junkie Julia.

Gue tau Julia ini karena sering lyat acaranya di NatGeo Adventure, Word Travel. Disini dia jadi host, bedua sama cowo yang gue namanya siapa, and travel around the world. pas gue baca blognya, gilaaaaa gue makin mengidolakan nih orang! nih ya gue kutip:

“My name is Julia Dimon and I’m a hard-core travel junkie. My obsession with travel first started with an innocent high-school trip to Italy. I was sixteen, impressionable, and thrilled to be living outside the watchful eye of my over-protective parents. It only took a few days of Renaissance art, chocolate gelato, and handsome Italian boys before I was hooked.

Take it from me, travel is highly addictive. It doesn’t come with the Surgeon General’s warning, but it should. Travel once and you’ll have an insatiable desire to do it over and over and over again. That’s how I became a ‘travel junkie.’

I’m a hard-core adventuress, a travel journalist, and TV travel personality who has traveled around the world to over 80 countries across all seven continents I’m the co-host of Word Travels, a 40-episode TV series about the real lives of travel writers, broadcast worldwide on National Geographic Adventure, Travel Channel UK, Halogen, Outside TV, City-TV and OLN. I also host the popular online 18-part travel series, Destination Getaway, for MSNBC. When not on the road, I’m in the studio, as part of a new ‘active lifestyle’ morning show called Outside Today, broadcast on Outside Television network. This flagship show, co-hosted by Survivor: Africa winner Ethan Zohn, reaches 61 millions viewers a year across the US. I also host a series of segments for Outside Television called “Urban Adventures,” where I experience the extreme – from canyoneering down 100-foot water falls, to kayak fishing in Brooklyn, bouldering to learning the art of horsemanship at ‘cowboy boot camp.’

I’ve been featured as a travel expert by ABC Nightline, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, NBC New York Non-Stop, NBC New York Nightly News, Forbes Traveler, MSNBC, Outside’s Go Magazine, Budget Travel, Arthur Frommer’s radio show, Peter Greenberg radio, Canada AM, as well as other major media outlets.

I’m a regular keynote speaker for the NY Times Travel Show (the largest consumer and travel trade show produced in the United States, featuring more than 500 tourism boards and 23,000 attendees), the Boston Globe Travel Show, The Chicago Tribune Travel & Adventure Show and the Washington, DC Travel & Adventure Show. I also serve on the Declaration Committee of Seven Natural Wonders, to determine the 7 natural wonders of each continent. I was nominated for a Gemini Award (honoring the best in Canadian Television) for Word Travels under the category of ‘Best Documentary Series.’

I’ve partnered with such brands as American Express to launch a new travel rewards card and Kayak.com, the world’s leading travel search engine, as their national spokesperson and “chief travel junkie.” Plus, I hosted three commercial campaigns for the Tourism Authority of Thailand, televised across Asia, India and the Pacific Rim on National Geographic Adventure channel.

My writing career began at the age of 12, with a monthly movie-review column for the Toronto Star, Canada’s largest daily newspaper. “Julia’s Flicks” was regularly published in the Star for over six years. From movie reviews, I moved into travel features. For four years, I wrote a monthly travel series for the Toronto Star, called “Confessions of a Backpacker” before I became a weekly columnist for Metro News. For the next four years, my nationally-syndicated travel column, “Travel Junkie,” appeared every Wednesday in newspapers across Canada. My column was also translated and appeared across Metro International, the “world’s largest global newspaper” with 23.1 million readers.”

Gilaaaa keren banget gak sih? not only she gets the chance to travel around the world, she also gets a lot of money from it! nih cewe dapet dua hal yang paling gue suka di dunia ini: money and travelling. muehehehhe.

Julia, di blognya juga nyebutin apa yang ngebuat dia jadi terobsesi work as a traveler. ternyata, hal ini berawal dari sebuah quote di kartu pos inspirasional yang dia lyat di Australia. Here it is:

“Why tell your grandkids you worked 9-5, five days a week for 40 years and quietly sat in traffic jams while people went to war, suffered disease and shot their own classmates? Tell them you refused to live in fear. Tell them you crossed the Amazon, saw the Lost Cities of Gold and met your soul mate in Casablanca. Travel to the ends of the earth. Go now and live adventures that will make your grandkids proud.”

Hanjiiiiiir, percaya atau gak ya, I feel like crying when I read this quote. merinding, njir! and it really hits me off, I should be like her. She’ve traveled around over 80 countries with every conditions.

“I’ve traveled to over 80 countries, in conflict zones across seven continents. I’ve trained as a gladiator in Rome, camel trekked the Egyptian pyramids, confronted Santa Claus in the Arctic Circle, eaten deep-fried guinea pig in Ecuador, watched a lion chase a warthog in Kenya, ran with bulls in Portugal and learned to speak Klingon in the Star Trek town of Vulcan. From the depths of the Great Barrier Reef to the top of Machu Picchu, I’ve hiked with silverback gorillas in Uganda, snorkeled with whale sharks in Mozambique, climbed The Great Wall of China, dog-sledded in Greenland, camel trekked in Jordan, slept with lions in the Serengeti, snacked on local delicacies such as silk worm, goat brain, six-inch scorpions, snake blood and severed human toe. I’ve pushed the boundaries of the travel writing genre, backpacking solo through off-the-beaten path locations on a quest for unique stories and amazing adventures.”

I know I can do it. Its not just about doing what I love, Its about doing what’s right for myself. I know I’m still far from there, but I know I’ll get there. soon. this, is my first step.

My dream job? NatGeo! Amen!

 

“The World is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page.”  ~St. Augustine

 

 

 

Julia Dimon

Julia Dimon

2 thoughts on “I’m not there yet, but I will!

Leave a Reply

